:: About The Party
About The Party

The CPI(M) was formed at the Seventh Congress of the Communist Party of India held in Calcutta from October 31 to November 7, 1964. The CPI(M) was born in the struggle against revisionism and sectarianism in the communist movement at the international and national level, in order to defend the scientific and revolutionary tenets of Marxism-Leninism and its appropriate application in the concrete Indian conditions. The CPI(M) combines the fine heritage of the anti-imperialist struggle and the revolutionary legacy of the undivided Communist Party which was founded in 1920. Over the years, the Party has emerged as the foremost Left force in the country.

The CPI(M) has grown steadily since its formation in 1964. The membership of the Party, which was 118,683 at the time of its formation, has grown to 10,44,833 in 2011. The Party has sought to independently apply Marxism-Leninism to Indian conditions and to work out the strategy and tactics for a people's democratic revolution, which can transform the lives of the Indian people. The CPI(M) is engaged in bringing about this basic transformation by carrying out a programme to end imperialist, big bourgeois and landlord exploitation. The CPI(M) as the leading Left party is committed to build a Left and democratic front which can present a real alternative to the existing bourgeois-landlord policies.

In the last few elections, contesting on an average 15 percent of the total seats, the CPI(M) has been getting around 5-6 percent of the votes. (India follows the “first past the post” system and not proportional representation) In the 2009 elections to the Lok Sabha (lower house of the Indian Parliament) the CPI(M) won 16 seats. The Lower House of Parliament has a strength of 543. In the Rajya Sabha (Upper House) the CPI(M) has 11 members.

The CPI(M) is heading one state government. The Left Front government headed by the CPI(M) was uninterruptedly in power in West Bengal since 1977 upto May 2011. In Kerala, it has been in and out of office. Currently, the Left Democratic Front headed by the CPI(M) is in opposition. In Tripura, the CPI(M) was first elected to office in 1977. Though it lost the subsequent election due to large scale rigging, in all elections since 1988 it has been voted to office. Though uneven, the CPI(M) has representation in eight state legislative assemblies.

State Committee Members elected by the West Bengal State 24th Conference of CPI(M) held from 8-13 March, 2015 at
Comrade Samar Mukherjee Nagar (Kolkata)
Comrade Shyamali Gupta and Comrade Amitabha Basu Mancha
(Pramode Dasgupta Bhavan)

1. Biman Basu
2. Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee
3. Surjya Kanta Mishra
4. Shyamal Chakraborty
5. Madan Ghosh
6. Mridul De
7. Goutam Deb
8. Md. Salim
9. Dipak Dasgupta
10. Nripen Chowdhury
11. Sridip Bhattacharya
12. Rabin Deb
13. Dipak Sarkar
14. Amiya Patra
15. Sujan Chakraborty
16. Rekha Goswami
17. Asim Dasgupta
18. Narayan Dutta
19. Moinul Hassan
20. Manab Mukherjee
21. Manabesh Chowdhury
22. Minati Ghosh
23. Ashok Bhattacharya
24. Mitali Kumar
25. Tarun Roy
26. Muzaffar Hossain
27. Basudeb Acharia
28. Amal Halder
29. Avik Dutta
30. Sukhendu Panigrahi
31. Samik Lahiri
32. Jibesh Sarkar
33. Manindra Gope
34. Ashok Banerjee
35. Debasish Chakrabarty
36. Deblina Hembram
37. Mriganka Bhattacharya
38. Ramchandra Dom
39. Niranjan Chatterjee
40. Kanti Gangully
41. Biplab Majumdar
42. Rama Biswas
43. Achintya Mallick
44. Abhas Roy Choudhury
45. Tarini Roy
46. Ambar Mitra
47. Sumit De
48. Sudarshan Roy Choudhury
49. Anadi Sahoo
50. Sayandeep Mitra
51. Harekrishna Samanta
52. Pulin Behari Baske
53. Pranab Chatterjee
54. Anju Kar
55. Nepaldeb Bhattacharya
56. Anisur Rahaman
57. Krishna Banerjee
58. Tapas Sinha
59. Atanu Saha
60. Ritabrata Banerjee
61. Salil Acharya
62. Narayan Biswas
63. Apurba Paul
64. Niranjan Sihi
65. Ajit Pati
66. Aniruddha Chakraborty
67. Ratna Dutta
68. Suman Pathak
69. Jiaul Alam
70. Robin Rai
71. Debabrata Ghosh
72. Mansa Hansda
73. Somnath Bhattacharya
74. Mrinal Chakraborty
75. Palash Das
76. Rupa Bagchi
77. Gauranga Chatterjee
78. Dilip Ghosh
79. Gargi Chatterjee
80. Tamser Ali
81. Meghlal Sekh
82. Vacant
83. Vacant
84. Vacant
85. Kanti Biswas (Ex-officeo)

Special Invitee:

1. Md. Amin
2. Nirupam Sen
3. Raghunath Kushari
4. Banani Biswas
5. Prasanta Pradhan
6. Dinesh Dakua
7. Hasim Abdul Halim
8. Nakul Mahato
9. Murshelin Mollah
10. Sunil Sarkar
11. Tarit Topdar
Best viewed in 1024x768 resolution. 32 bit colours.